Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

27249971

The Bestseller She Wrote by Ravi Subramanian

Author Ravi Subramanian, known for his financial thrillers, has tried his hand at something a little different, The Bestseller She Wrote is a little more fatal attraction-esque. And it seems to be doing ok for a different attempt.

I wouldn’t say I would read it again but it was fine for a one time read.

18352654_thumb

All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

This was the book read of the month in one of my Goodreads groups and I have to thank the people who voted for this because I would never have touched it if not for them. And I have to thank my glasses for breaking else I would never have found this amazing audiobook version.

All the Light We Cannot See is a great read, even if you don’t like war stories like me. I’d say pick this up in Audio if you can.

25918820_thumb

Pradyumna Son Of Krishna by Usha Narayanan

This was a sore disappointment. With the Mythology wave that seems to be going across India many new authors are emerging which is great but what sucks is that any book passes for a great read as long as it is Mythology.

Pradyumna: Son of Krishna is one of those books. It excels in research by fails in writing. the author seems to be taking a class in Mythology instead of writing an enthralling book. two stars from me.

4942647

Bad Monkeys by Matt Ruff

This was a reread for me. I read it ages ago, ages and ages ago when I was young and looking for crazy books to read. I read it because I was trying to determine if I ought to keep this or get rid of it.

It’s going in the keep pile. It’s not that great a read but it’s certainly entertaining. ‘Jane Charlotte has been arrested for murder.

She says she’s a member of a secret organization devoted to fighting evil. She says she’s working with the Department for the Final Disposition of Irredeemable Persons—aka “Bad Monkeys.”

Her confession lands her in the jail’s psychiatric wing and earns her countless hours of poking, probing, and questioning by a professional. But is Jane crazy or lying?’

27505117

Vahana by Mamta Nainy

Don’t judge a book by it’s cover. This is what I did here. It is supposed to give the reader (the young reader) an account of our gods’ vahanas and why they ended up in their prestigious positions.

Read this if your child is already aware of all the legends and stories and is a native Hindi speaker. Not otherwise.
Buy From Amazon

24106033

Career Of Evil By Robert Galbraith

My current favourite detective is back with a great book. Maybe not s great as the first two but I really did enjoy Career of Evil ( a lot.

Pick it up and read it if you already know one of the author’s previous books. Else start with The Cuckoo’s Calling .

9781405920025_thumb

Doctor Who Time Lord Fairy Tales

Fairy tale retellings are always disappointing for me because I don’t know half the tales they’re talking about. Being Indian I was not raised on western stories and most of these were completely confusing for me. But I enjoyed a few….I didn’t enjoy a few. Mostly I wanted a Dalek.

Read Doctor Who: Time Lord Fairy Tales if you are a whovian. If not you can skip it.

861023

A contract with god and other tenement stories

I’m not sure if I enjoyed this or hated this. I will say one thing though, graphic novels and comics are only meant to be enjoyed in physical for. Not on ebook format.

That being said this was a 50/50 situation for me. I enjoyed some of the stories, particularly the one in the came and the first one about the poor guy-rich guy. But the others were putting off. I suppose it would suit someone who is less easily shocked.

