Tags

, , , , ,

25918820

Author : Usha Narayanan

Publisher : Penguin India

Genre : Mythology

Synopsis : ‘I see a dark future that makes me quake,’ Devarishi Narada said. ‘One of these newborns will ravage the world and erase the name of Krishna from the face of the earth.’
As the world trembles on the threshold of Kali Yuga—4,32,000 years of unprecedented evil—it waits for a saviour to rise.
Meanwhile, in the dark netherland of the asuras, the meek Vama shudders as he learns that he is actually Pradyumna,
the son of Krishna. And that his journey has just begun.
From the asura kingdom to Dwaraka and then Kurukshetra, destiny forces him to battle monsters, angry
gods and blazing weapons, and overpower his own weaknesses. Will he be able to rise to the challenge in time to save
the world? Or is he the destroyer prophesied by Narada?
Pradyumna is the gripping saga of the rise of this mighty, swashbuckling hero whom all of humanity awaits.

I did not enjoy this book at all. It breaks my heart to say that but I really did not. As much as I would love to support a female south Indian author, i cannot say this was any good. Her interview came in The Hindu and i grabbed my phone and ordered it off amazon. Because she was south Indian, because she was female and because the terminology she uses is linguistically closer to my side of the country. Not to mention my aunt raved about this. I waited for my family to finish reading this book before grabbing it and trying to tear through it. Alas, it was not to be. I had to force my way through it.

Did I mention the cover design? His left arm looks disfigured and he looks like a B grade Indian serial’s villain. I wouldn’t have picked this up if i saw it in a store.

Here’s the thing, the author knows her subject really well. She could probably become a mythology professor, which is exactly what this book reads like. A chronological order of supposed mythological happenings in a textbook. At best this sounds like she took her grandmother’s bed time stories, translated them into English and wrote them down while constantly preaching and preaching and preaching about the greatness of the gods.

For example, there is a difference between “They walked in through the doors.” and “They walked in through the gigantic polished doors that stood gleaming on either side.” The latter shows off opulence and the former is just a statement. It’s like reading a play script. I could not, for the life of me, understand why she crammed in so much unnecessary information. the book could have been cut down to 50% less information and 50% more expression and colour. The thing this book lacks is flair and colour. The author needs to read more Tripathi, Ashok Banker, Tolkien, George R.R. Martin and Rowling (and any other fantasy or mythology author who is good) before she writes her next book. I was unable to finish this book. I didn’t want to. I will not be ordering the next one.

I hate writing bad reviews so let me end on a pleasant note.

Everyone is different and just because I didn’t like this doesn’t mean you won’t either. You might find this to be your favourite book! Read this book if you are already well versed with mythology and just want to brush up on your Pradyumna knowledge. It has every little detail of his life here.

Have you read it?

