Tags

, , , ,

21954090

Author : Linda Weaver Clarke

Narrator : Diane Lehman

Publisher : Red Mountain Shadows Publishing

Genre : Mystery, Romance, Clean

Summary : Amelia Moore, the founder of the Moore Detective Agency, specializes in missing persons. Her cases have taken her to some very interesting places and put her in some dangerous situations, but she always solves the case. With the help of Rick Bonito, her sometime partner, her business is flourishing.
When Mrs. Brody hires Amelia and Rick to find her missing brother, they find themselves in Bali, Indonesia. They are mystified why her brother quit his job, put his home up for sale, and ran off to this mysterious and exotic island without telling a soul.

Thoughts : I really wanted to like this book. I really did. I tried so hard to. I’m sorry. It starts off pretty well actually, and upto the halfway point. Then it all fell apart like a wild wind blowing away a trembling house of cards.

I was given this, very kindly, in exchange for an honest review. So here it is. Amelia Moore starts off as a pretty likeable character, a founder of a detective agency, must be a smart girl, self sufficient and with her wits about her right? Almost, she is all these things till Rick, the muscle man, shows up. Then she turns into a pea brained pretty helpless woman who can’t take care of herself and needs her partner to figure out every bloody obvious thing. Then the journal itself, what is this the Ulysses? How long does it take to actually read this damn journal? A flight from the USA to Bali takes about 20 hours. Couldn’t they have read the journal which would help them on the job that they are going to Bali for in that time? Why are they always so tired and so sleepy? Would you trust a 30+ detective who starts her own agency but does not even know how to defend herself? Who does not think that a tracker is the way people track her? Her intelligence vanishes after Rick appears and I do not like that. Also, the characters read more like 20 yr olds than older. Very immature for the most part.

Fine, i’m willing to suspend my disbelief and just focus on this being a fun read. Which I did, i was enjoying it for a while and then.SPOILER ALERT FROM HERE ON Rick and Amelia decide that the Pakistanis are Hindus. Yup, the characters, Abdul and Usman are supposedly Hindus. How about that. As I Hindu myself, i found this rather baffling. I don’t know any Hindus called Abdul and Usman and Zarkha. BUT I do know a lot of Muslims with said names. I wonder if that is because 95-98% of Pakistanis are Muslims.

Plot falls apart here and I have to force myself to read on, listening to the author’s research-free book. I managed that till i got tired of the Pakistani’s accents. They sound like a cartoon version of a dumb bully with a speech impediment.

I’m so upset. I was really expecting to like this book. So disappointed. I gave this three stars because as an Indian and a Hindu who has watched a couple of Pakistani serials (which is why I know they don’t sound like this) I might not have liked it but others might.

Just a word, as an author, how long does it take to google Religion In Pakistan? It took me 0.16 seconds to get results from google and no time to see the words 95-98% Muslim on my screen. I assumed that maybe, just maybe I was making a mistake and checked with my friends if Zarkha was a Muslim name, apparently it is. And I don’t know any Hindus called Zarkha.

(for those wondering why Im focussing on the religion so much it’s because the character, Zarkha, spends a LOT of her time going to the Hindu temples in Bali everyday and even got married there because she was supposed to be Hindu. and because the uncle sent some men after her and they keep calling her their property so I assume they are related to her.)

I won’t be reading the other books in this series.

